Headlines News :
Home » » Tendulkar given Order of Australia honour

Tendulkar given Order of Australia honour

Written By Sambasivarao on Tuesday, October 16, 2012 | Tuesday, October 16, 2012

INDIAN cricketer Sachin Tendulkar will be awarded an Order of Australia in a rare honour to a foreign sportsman by the Australian government.

"I'm very pleased we're going to confer on Sachin Tendulkar membership of the Order of Australia, an AM," Gillard told reporters in Delhi. "This is a very special honour, very rarely awarded to someone who is not an Australian citizen or an Australian national

Approximately 20 Australian cricketers have been given Order of Australia honours, including Sir Donald Bradman, Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Mark Waugh, Mark Taylor, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Dennis Lillee, Max Walker, Bob Simpson, Keith Miller, Justin Langer, Bill Lawry, Ricky Ponting, Peter Burge, Ron Archer, Alan Davidson, Dean Jones and Belinda Clark.

Non Australian Players who got this award : Brian Lara,  Clive Lloyd, Sir Garfield Sobers
Share this article :


Speak up your mind

Tell us what you're thinking... !

Page views

Blog Archive


Proudly powered by Blogger
Copyright © 2011. Useful One! - All Rights Reserved
Template Design by Creating Website Published by Mas Template